politics and ethnicity

Thursday, March 17, 2022 1:04 AM
I did some lap dances today with a girl who told me she was born in Russia but was adopted and brought here when she was three. I asked her if she had any opinion on the Russia-Ukraine war and she said she had none at all. She wasn't at all pro-Putin. She just didn't care. She told me she knew the name of the Russian city she was born in but has never even bothered to look on a map to see where it is. Does your ethnic background influence your politics? My Indiana congressional representative is Victoria Spartz, a Ukrainian American who is gung-ho on entering the war on the side of the Ukraine. My background is German but I can't imagine that I would have wanted the U.S. to enter the war on the side of Germany in World War II. I admire people like Washington or Jefferson or Lincoln, not people like Hitler or Goebbels or Goering.

51 comments

I don't have the bandwidth for a long post on this right now. But I'll quickly point out that you're talking about two different factors: ethnicity versus nationality. "Russian" and "German" are not ethnicities. They are certainly nationalities, and somewhat defined cultures.* You'll find large populations of people of Chinese heritage in Russia as well as America. I'm willing to bet that's a very different experience (politically and culturally) for each population, though they share the same ethnicity. So, are we talking about the political effect of ethnicity or nationality here? === *Somewhat because the culture of Western Russia is not the same as the culture of far Eastern Russia. Even East and West Germany have a culture gap, particularly because of the former political divide.
Call.Me.Ishmael
2 years ago