[OT] Telematic Car Insurance Tracking App

Friday, May 26, 2023 10:23 AM
I’ve been insured by one of the well known national car insurance for many years. When the tracking apps first came on the market I thought to myself - I’m a good driver, maybe I can save on my rates. But then, I let the wary, paranoid side of my brain takeover and I didn’t want another intrusion in my personal life. When I moved to another state a couple of years ago and I stayed with the same company but my new agent coerced me into using the app. They jacked up my rates triple and when I called they said - oh, you can really save money by installing the app. So I did and my rates went down cheaper than before. But it’s weird using the app. It does force you to make better decisions in general - don’t speed, don’t run the red light. But I think it’s way too strict. No matter how hard I try I can’t get above an average score of 90 to 92. And while they claim cell phone usage is tracked but not scored against you - I’m not so sure. When I travel and use the GPS app, even if I touch the phone while moving, my trip score plummets.

20 comments

Do you plug a tracking device into your OBD port on the car ? If so, I’ve seen claims that harms the car mechanically.
mark94
a year ago
No plug in. There’s a transponder I stick to my window that’s Bluetooth to the phone
motorhead
a year ago
A few years before I retired I put tracking devices on our trucks, not only did it save a ton of money, it actually worked well, the vehicles that had tracking devices hat less mileage and fewer minor damages, as far as your personal vehicle, if your car is 2015 or newer GPS tracking is mostly built into every vehicle sold. So what's the difference, if you get involved in a major collision law enforcement will subpoena your data tracker, and being on public roadways, with tracking cameras, all around, you have no real presumption of privacy.
twentyfive
a year ago