[OT]: Shopping for Cookware

Wednesday, July 19, 2023 11:28 AM
I know we have some foodophiles on TUSCL, so I’m seeking some expert advise. I’m been looking on Amazon for a new cookware set and the choices are overwhelming. Stainless steel, ceramic, copper, basic non stick What’s a good, but doesn’t have to be top of the line, choice?

22 comments

Having a Sugar Baby Stripper who cooks for me at her place works best for me.
etsutwigg222
10 months ago
Is your stove gas or electric?
rickdugan
10 months ago
Rick - electric I just moved to a new home and it’s electric . Miss my old gas stove
motorhead
10 months ago
Last Christmas my daughter replaced my 50 yo stainless steel cook ware set with a new "Masterclass"set. I've been cooking with electric for many years because it is cleaner than gas. I does take some time getting used to how to judge heat. They get much hotter than gas stoves. Baking time is less than most cooking directions. I do like the no stick feature but you have to learn not to fry on high heat. Grease left in the bottom of the pan will burn it. Overall I am happy with it.
shadowcat
10 months ago
What type of cooking do you do, and do you have a good quality Barbecue?
twentyfive
10 months ago
Go to https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/kitchen-dining/cookware/ they have reviews and recommendations for all the various types and uses. I generally just follow their advice the past few years and have gotten good results at reasonable prices.
drewcareypnw
10 months ago
Wife was at Rhode Island Job Lots. Big Ole non-stick frying pan - $17.00. Klok is the brand. Never heard of it, but I can buy 4 of them for the price of T-fal etc. Non-stick stuff doesn't last but this is scratch fee after 9 months and we use if 5-7 days a week. Miss my gas range, but flat-top electric with a convection oven works fine. Weber grill on the deck.
skibum609
10 months ago