Is History Actually Taught Anymore or Just DEI?

Sunday, July 23, 2023 6:04 AM
I’m amazed at the number of threads on Reddit asking if Oppenheimer is based on a true story?

40 comments

Just DEI. The schools are indoctrination camps at this point.
LapHunt
10 months ago
I'm a teacher and I don't feel the schools in my area are indoctrination camps. In fact, my colleagues and I strive to lay out facts and invite students to use critical thinking examine how the facts affects their lives. I stress everyone's unique lived experience gives them a lens in which to interpret the effects the facts have on how they are living and what might lay ahead. As a teacher it's my job to encourage critical analysis and common sense. I also make it clear, facts are real. There are no "alternative" facts but there can be more information uncovered that will add to one's critical analysis. We must all live our own lives.
oscarlomax
10 months ago
^^ I guess the argument will always be “how to teach history”. I’m always fascinated when I watch a movie from the 90’s called “School Ties” that takes place in the 1950’s at prestigious Ivy League prep school. There’s a scene where the history teacher is unmercifully cold calling on students to remember dates and events. Memorization of facts seems to have given way to critical thinking. I was taught the old school way - but perhaps the new way is better. However, it seems if modern day students are not aware of the realities of WW II and Robert Oppenheimer then pedagogical methods should be reevaluated. I’m just afraid CRT is now more important than facts and dates
motorhead
10 months ago